Awards Night is held annually on the first Tuesday in October as part of the monthly General Meeting and presents an opportunity for CSMEE members to exhibit their work in a competitive way and gain recognition for their efforts, as judged by their peers.

Any financial member can compete for awards.

Each entry should be LARGELY the work of the entrant.

There are seven categories, the winner of each being selected by the popular vote of members and guests present on the night.

The winner of each category will receive a trophy or cup to be held for one year until the next awards night. They will also receive a certificate and their name will be entered on the respective honours board on the clubrooms wall.


CURRY CUP - For best workmanship on any entry.
Named after Frank Curry. Frank was an engineer at Wallace & Cooper, Timaru before moving to
Christchurch.  He was a former President of CSMEE. First awarded 1995.

EDSALL AWARD - For best first model.
Named after Monty Edsall. Monty was an engineering manager in Christchurch. First awarded

HARRISON CUP - For best boat.
Named after Jim Harrison.  Jim was a draughtsman at Christchurch City Council.  He made several ship models including the cargo ship model on display in the Clubrooms. First awarded 1966.

MOODY CUP - For best entry overall.
Named after John Moody.  John was a self employed businessman.  He was instrumental in the Clubhouse and track at Andrews Cres. First awarded 1951.

POWELL SHIELD - For best item of workshop equipment.
Named after Harry Powell. Harry was a technician at Christchurch Hospital and made several
engines. First awarded 1962.

KEVIN WELSH CUP - For best road vehicle.
Kevin was a maintenance engineer at Temuka Insulators. First awarded 1993.

CANTERBURY RAILWAY AWARD - For best 7 1/4” Gauge model.
This award consists of a slice of the original wrought iron rail from the Canterbury Railway of 1870. First awarded 2004.


PRESIDENTS CUP - For best small entry. Decided by the President alone.  First awarded 1995.

ROSS FIELDEN AWARD - Decided by the elected Committee members from nominations received from the general membership.  New in 2017.

BENT COUPLING AWARD - For that embarrassing incident which you thought went unnoticed.

    Award                                       For                                                                    Winners - 2023

    Moody Cup                                Best Model Overall                                              David Campbell

    Curry Cup                                  Best Workmanship In Any Model                          David Campbell

    Harrison Cup                             Best Model Boat                                                  Andrew Hawke

    Powell Shield                            Best Workshop Equipment                                    Matt Agnew

    Presidents Cup                         Best Small Model                                                                    Matt Agnew

    Edsall Award                             Best First Model                                                           

    Kevin Welsh Cup                       Best Road Vehicle                                                 Rex Walker

    Canterbury Railways Trophy     Best 7 1/4" Loco or Rolling Stock                            Cyril Fifield

    Ross Fielden Award                      Best new Innovation or contribution to CSMEE  John Wilson

    The "Bent Coupling" Award      In recognition of something the recipient                   

                                                     wished would remain their little secret!

2022 - Click here for pictures of 2022 Award Winners

2020 - Click here for pictures of 2020 Award Winners

2018 - Click here for pictures of 2018 Award Winners

2016 - Click here for Pictures of 2016 Awards Winners

2023 - Click here for pictures of 2023 Award Winners

2021 - Click here for pictures of 2021 Award Winners

2019 - Click here for Pictures of 2019 Award Winners

2017 - Click here for Pictures of 2017 Awards Winners

  2015 - Click here for Pictures of 2015 Awards Winners

 2014 - Click here for Pictures of 2014 Awards Winners


 2013 - Click here for Pictures of 2013 Awards winners


2012 - Click here for pictures of 2012 Awards winners 


2010 - Click here for pictures of 2010 Awards winners

2011 - Click here for pictures of 2011 Awards winners


2009 - Click here for pictures of 2009 Awards entries and winners